Scotch eggs

What to have for lunch to day well, there are sausages in the fridge so I’m thinking scotch eggs.


Time to make them. I boil 6 eggs for about 8 minutes I only need 5 but I put in an extra one because I always mess one egg up when shelling it. While the eggs are boiling I get three bowls out yes two are my nieces just don’t tell or I will be in trouble. In one bowl. I crack an egg into one bowl. In another bowl I put ½ teaspoon of black pepper, a teaspoon of nutmeg and a teaspoon of mustard powder. I then put 3 tablespoons of plain flour into the bowl and mix it all together. I the last bowl I put a tablespoon of paprika and a tablespoon of Italian mixed herbs. I add ½ teaspoon of black pepper. I then blitz 2 slices of seeded wholemeal bread. I then put this into the bowl with the mixed herbs. I then get 10 good quality sausage and take their casings off.
Eggs are done. I take the shells off and as predicted I mess one up so I just eat it.

Now it’s time to construct the scotch egg. First put the egg into the flour mix and roll it around. Next smash two sausages together and then flatten them out on the palm of your hand. Next put the egg into the middle and cover the egg with the sausage meat. Now I put it in the flour mixture again. Next I dip it into the egg and coat it all with egg. Then I put it into the bowl with the bread crumbs and coat it with the bread crumbs. I then put it on the baking tray. I repeat this four more times. All done. I spray them all with one cal spray oil to make the bread crumbs crunchy when they cook. I put the tray in the oven that has pre heated to 200 degrees. I put them in the oven for 40 minutes.


Coffee time. 40 minutes up and they are done just in time for lunch. Nothing better then a warm scotch egg for your lunch

Lunch any one


So to sum up
6 large eggs boiled
10 good quality sausages
Two slices of seeded wholemeal bread
1 tablespoon of paprika
1 tablespoon of Italian mixed herbs
2 x ½ teaspoons of black pepper
1 teaspoon mustard powder
1 teaspoon nutmeg
3 tablespoons of flour
1 large egg whisked up
Until next time happy baking

Leave a comment