Tiger baguettes sort of

I decided I would make tiger baguettes. So I started this recipe yesterday evening. I weighed out 20g of fresh yeast. I then weigh out 200g of strong white flour. I add just enough water to make a paste. I then cover it and leave it over night.


Saturday now I had to get up early to finish the bread off. So I weigh out 300g of strong white flour, 10g salt and 50g of butter, I put it in the bowl with the paste and mix it up. I then add 150ml of water and mix it up. I then put the dough hook on the mixer and I kneed it for 10 minutes. I then cover it up and leave it for 1 hour.
1 hour up I take the dough out of the bowl and put it on to the blue mat. I then half it. I roll one half into a long sausage shape and put it onto the baking tray. I do the same with the other half of the dough. I then cover them and leave them for 1 hour.


While the bread is proving I make the top for the bread. I weigh out 25g of rice flour. I then measure out 1 teaspoon of sugar, ¼ teaspoon of yeast, 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil, 1 ½ tablespoons of warm water and a pinch of salt. I mix it all together until its a thick paste and leave it on the side till I need it.


1 hour is up I have pre heated the oven 220 degrees. I spread the paste over the top of the dough. I then put three slashes in each baguette. I then put them in the oven for 30 minutes.
30 minutes up and they look and smell amazing. My sandwich with the bread was amazing.


So until next time happy baking

Leave a comment