Breakfast Danish pastrys

I started this recipe yesterday as it takes two days to make. Well the pastry takes two days to make. I asked my friend the biology teacher and my friend the chemistry teacher what they thought of this recipe and they both said it sounded nice. It’s only taken me two weeks to get round to making them.


I weigh out 500g of strong white flour and put it in the bowl. I then weigh out 80g of white sugar and pop that into the bowl. I then weigh out 10 g of salt and put that at one side of the bowl. I then add two packets of dried yeast to the other side of the bowl. I then measure out 300ml of blue milk and it has to be blue milk. I then crack a large egg in the milk and whisk it up. I pour about ¾ of the milk and egg mixture into the bowl and mix it all up. I then put the dough hook on the mixer and kneed the mixture. There is some flour still at the bottom of the bowl, so I pour the rest of the milk egg mixture in the bowl. I kneed the dough in the mixer for 10 minutes. I then spray some cling film with 1 cal spray. And I wrap the dough in the cling film. I then put it in the fridge for two hours.


Two hours up. I get the pastry out of the fridge and I roll it out to 50cmx40cm. I then slice up 320g of butter. It’s best to use the block butter. I place the butter over about half of the dough. I then fold 1/3 to the middle. Then fold the other third that has butter in to the middle. I now have three layers. I wrap it in oiled cling film and put it in the fridge for 30 minutes. One cup of coffee latter and the buzzer of doom goes off. Time to roll the pastry out. I roll it out I then take one third and fold it to the middle I take the other third and put it into the middle. I have a three layers again. I wrap it in cling film and put it in the fridge for 30 minutes. I repeat this three more times. On the last time I leave the pastry in the fridge over night.


The next day Sunday. I get a pack of smoked streaky bacon and normal streaky bacon. I cook both packs. I cut up one packet of chestnut mushrooms and one packet of white mushrooms. I cook the mushrooms in the pan that had the bacon in. I let the mushrooms and bacon fully cool. So I think it’s time for a coffee. Bacon cool and mushrooms cooled. So I get the pastry out of the fridge and cut it in half. I put one half back in the fridge. I roll the half that is out on the side out to a 40cmx30cm. I sprinkle half the mushrooms over the pastry and put 4 rashes of smoked and 4 rashes of normal bacon over the mushrooms. I then sprinkle some black pepper over it. I then roll it like a Swiss roll. I then cut it out in to ten discs I put them onto trays. I get the other pastry out of the fridge and roll it out I put the other half of the mushrooms over the pastry and the rest of bacon over the pastry. I then grate some orange cheese over the top and sprinkle some black pepper over. I then roll it like a Swiss roll again. I cut it up in to ten. I then place them on the tray. I cover them in cling film and leave them for a hour.


One hour up and a cup of coffee and a biscuit later. Time to take the cling film off. I egg wash all the discs. I turn the oven on to 180 degrees. And pop them in the oven. Four batches later and they are all done. They smell amazing and taste fantastic.
The last time I made Danish pastry a certain head of department wanted one but we weren’t at work, so do I drop one on her desk tomorrow morning yes or no?


So to sum up
For the pastry
500g strong white flour
80g white sugar
10g salt
14g dried yeast
300ml of full fat milk.
1 large egg
320g of butter
For the filling
250g chestnut mushrooms
300g white mushrooms
1 packet smoked streaky bacon
1 packet of streaky bacon
50g of orange cheese
Black pepper
Until next time happy baking

9 thoughts on “Breakfast Danish pastrys

Leave a comment