Balti chicken and tomato wild rice

It’s Sunday and time to make my lunch for the week. This is one of two dishes.


I have left over balti paste from last week so I’m going to use it up. I cut up 1 ½ chicken breasts and put them in a bag I then add the balti paste and mix it all up. I zip up the bag and I then put it in the fridge to marinate for 4 hours.


Time to move on to the rice. I chop up a red and white onion. I then put chilli butter in the pan and melt it. I then add the onions and cook for 10 minutes.

I slice up two tomatoes and a pepper. I then chop up two small potatoes.
I then put ½ teaspoons of nigella seeds in with the onions. I grate two garlic gloves in. I measure out 1 teaspoon of coriander and a teaspoon of chilli powder. I put them in the pan and mix it up I then add the tomatoes, potato and the pepper. I also add a big handful of frozen peas and sweetcorn I let it cook for 5 minutes. I then add 200g of wild rice to the pan and add 500ml of boiling water. I cover the pan with the lid. I then cook it for 20 minutes, until all the water has gone. That’s the rice done.


A few hours later I get the chicken out of the fridge I put it into a dish and cook it in the oven at 200 degrees for 20 minutes. Chicken cooked I now put it on top of the rice and lunch number one is done.


So to sum up
Chilli butter
2 cloves of garlic
½ teaspoon of nigella seeds
2 tomato’s
1 pepper
Handful of peas
Handful of sweetcorn
2 small potatoes
1 white onion
1 red onion
1 teaspoon of chilli powder
1 teaspoon of coriander
200g wild rice
1 ½ chicken breasts
Balti paste
So until next time happy baking

Leave a comment