Messy toffee cupcakes

My friend the chemistry teacher was very kind this week and she gave me one of her Mary berry cook books to keep for ever. I do love collecting cook books. I kinda need more room for cook books. I just like reading them and learning from them all. In every cookbook I learn something new.


First thing I make the toffee sauce I weigh 50g of butter 80g of brown sugar. I then measure out 160ml double cream. I then measure out two teaspoons of vanilla extract. I put it all in a pan and cook it on a low heat till the butter has melted. I then turn the heat up and let it boil. Storing it all the time. I let it bubble for a few minutes to thicken up. I stir it all the time so it doesn’t catch on the bottom of the pan. I take it off the heat and I leave it to cool.


Now to the cupcakes. I weigh out 105g of butter, 150g self raising flour and 130g of brown sugar. I then measure out 3 tablespoons of whole milk. I then add two teaspoons of vanilla extract to the mixture. I crack two large eggs into the bowl. Now a tip I learnt from the new Mary Barry Cook book that my friend gave me. Put a bit of oil on to a tablespoon then scoop a level spoon full of black treacle and put it in the bowl and by magic the treacle slides off the spoon and leaves none on the spoon. My mind was blown. I did say I learnt something new with every cook book that I have. I mix all the ingredients together. I have pre heated the oven to 175 degrees. I put 12 cup cake cases in a muffin tin. I then put the mixture into the cup cake cases. I put it in the oven for 25 minutes. They are cooked. I leave them in the tin for 5 minutes. I then put them on a wire rack to cool.
Once they have cooled.

I make the butter icing but it doesn’t work out so I scrap it. I find my inner child and drizzle the toffee sauce over the cakes. They don’t look pretty but they taste really good. Maybe one day I will be able to make butter icing. I think the ratios were out but I didn’t have any icing sugar left to try and thicken it up.
So until next time happy baking.

2 thoughts on “Messy toffee cupcakes

  1. Thank you for sharing the tip. How good is that??!!! Love the recipes and your blog! I put on weight just looking and enjoying each week. Keep it up! Well done girl xxcc

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment