Béchamel sauce

Last post of the night. Im still trying to use up the milk. Now this popped in my head at lunch time at work and so I did some research to see if you could freeze Béchamel sauce. You can. So I think I will use up a lot of milk here.


So here goes. I weigh out 100g of butter and put it in the pan I then weigh out 100g of plain flour. I put it in the pan. I put the pan on the hob and slowly melt the butter and stir the flour in. Once it’s combined. I then measure out 1200ml of milk. I slowly pour the milk in while whisking. Once all the milk is in the pan I turn the heat up and whisk the mixture till it thickens. This takes forever. I told myself that I’m not going to doubt myself this time making this sauce as it always works and guess what it does thicken up. I have grated 140g of cheese. The cheese I use is orange cheddar cheese and white cheddar cheese. I put the cheese in the pan and mix it up. I then add a good sprinkle of black pepper. I mix it up. I then get the homemade American mustard and honey mustard out of the fridge. I put a tablespoon of both onto the sauce. I mix it up. Its cooked. I now get tubs out of the cupboard and spoon the sauce into the tubs. I let them fully cool down. I then put the lids on. I put them in the freezer. I will use them when I need them. I will just defrost them then gently heat it up in the pan. When you defrost them they won’t look pretty but once warmed the sauce will look normal.


So to sum up
100g butter
100g plain flour
1200ml of milk
Black pepper
1 tablespoon of American mustard
1 tablespoon of honey mustard
140g of cheese
So until next time happy baking

Leave a comment