Burger relish

I think my head of department knows when I’m about to try a new recipe that I need jars for as she dropped some on my desk during the week.


I was reading through one of my preserving books and saw a recipe on burger relish. So on a lunch time at work between watching line of duty and eating my lunch I did some research and found a few more recipes so I’m going to mix and match and come up with my own burger relish. I wrote the recipe down in the top secret recipe book that I keep at work for when it’s lunch time or break time and I’m looking at cook books or recipes on my phone and a recipe pops in my head. I write it down. No you will not find it chemistry teacher it’s well hidden along with the top secret chocolate stash.


I get 6 tomato’s out. I cut them all up really small. I then get a red pepper deseed it and then chop that up in to small pieces. I then get a white onion, red onion and two banana shallots. I cut them all up really small. I then slice up a red long chilli. I put it all into a pan. I then measure out two teaspoons of soy sauce and put that in. I then measure out 250ml of red wine vinegar and put that in. I then grate three cloves of garlic into the pan. I measure out two teaspoons of tomato puree pop that in the pan. I then weigh out 330g of sugar and pop that into the pan. I mix it all up. I then put it on the heat and let it boil. I then turn it down a little and let it all cook together for 30 minutes.


30 minutes is up I have sterilized the jars that magically turned up on my desk at work. I then spoon the relish into the jars put the lids on and turn them upside down for 20 minutes. I then turn then the right way. And they have all sealed nicely. Now I have to wait a month before I can try it. Can I wait that long that is the question.


So to sum up
330g sugar
6 tomatos
1 red pepper
3 garlic cloves
2 teaspoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons tomato puree
1 white onion
1 red onion
2 banana shallots
250ml red wine vinegar
So until next time happy baking

Leave a comment