Cucumber jelly

We have quite a few cucumbers at the moment, and I was wondering what to do with them I’m not a fan of pickled cucumber so that is out the window. So, I looked on my preserving books and came across cucumber jelly I then researched it online and thought why not give it a go. I’m hoping this is going to taste really nice because I think it will go well with ham, cold cuts of meat and tuna sandwiches.

I weigh out 950g of cucumber. I then chop them into slices leaving the skins on. Now I put them in the preserving pan with 30ml of water. I turn the heat up and bring the pan to boil it takes about 30 seconds. I then turn it down and simmer until the cucumber is soft. Cooking the cucumber is slightly freaking me out as I have never cooked it in my life it smells like cucumber, but it doesn’t it is very odd.

Its finally soft. I put it into the liquidizer and wizz it up. I assemble the jelly bag. I put the mushed-up cucumber into the jelly bag and let it drip for about 4 hours.

I have a nice green liquid. I measure it out and it comes to 350ml. I pour it into the pan. I then juice a lemon and pour the juice into the pan. Now I weigh out 650g of sugar and pour that into the pan. I put the pan on the heat and bring it to the boil. I then turn it down and let it simmer for about 5 minutes. I turn the heat off and pour it into hot sterilized jar. Put the lids on and turn upside down to form a vacuum. Once cooled I will turn them the right way and label them. The jelly looks nice now I can’t wait to try it. This is on of the strangest things I have preserved so far. Might see what else I can do with cucumber.

So, to sum up

950g cucumbers

650g sugar

1 lemon juiced

So, until next time happy baking

Leave a comment