Sweetcorn, chilli, and pepper relish

The corn on the cob is ready and so far, this year we have beat the rats and the mice to it which is a bonus. We have had a few on the BBQ and they were amazing but there are so many of them I decided to do sweetcorn, chilli, and pepper relish.

I chop up a red pepper into small pieces. I then chop up 2 garlic clove and two red onions. I chop up a long red chilli. I put a splash of olive oil into the preserving pan. I then put this all into the pan and cook until soft so, around about 10 minutes.

While that is cooking, I scrape the corn kernels off 6 corn cobs with the cool corn taker offer scraper tool. I then weigh out 100g of sugar. I juice two lemons and measure out 100ml of water. The ten minutes are up I put the sugar, corn, water, and lemon juice into the pan. I turn the heat up and bring it to the boil for 5-10 minutes until it thickens up. I keep stirring it so that it doesn’t catch on the bottom. While that is cooking away, I get a good hand full of fresh coriander and chop it up finely.

Time is up I add a teaspoon of salt to the pan and the coriander and stir it in. now I jar the relish up into hot sterilized jars. I put the lids on and turn them upside down so that they form a vacuum. Once cooled I turn them up the right way and label them. Now tomorrow I can try this relish. What to have it with.

So, to sum up

6 corns on the cobs

2 garlic cloves

1 long red chilli

1 red pepper

100ml water

100g sugar

2 lemons juiced

2 red onions

So, until next time happy baking.

Leave a comment